Filipino festa!

This week was pretty good, keepin’ busy as always 🙂

We had exchanges on Thursday with Sorella Bair and Sorella Andersen.  And man, I’ve just been a magnet for Filipino this past transfer or something!  Sorella Bair and I got on the tram and these two Filipinos were just staring at me.  So I smiled at them and said hi.  And then I just asked them what part of the Philippines they were from and we just start talking!  Turns out both of them had relatives that are LDS back in the Philippines and the Church is pretty big where they’re from.  And I just happened to bring a Book of Mormon in Tagalog with me that day, so I was able to give the guy one in Tagalog before he got off the tram.  And then I kept talking with the lady for the rest of the ride and she wants to meet with us!  She gave us her address and phone number, so we’re hoping good things will come! 🙂

On Friday, we had Zone Conference (well, technically this one was “Specialized Training”), which was so great!  I loveeee zone conferences 🙂  You get to see other missionaries and you learn so much!  Nothin’ bad about it.

After conference, Sorella Arnold and I stayed in Catania to do exchanges with the Sorelle there. During that exchange, we were riding on the bus to go more downtown and I met this Filipino girl!  She had been to the LDS church a couple of times when she was little back in the Philippines and she had some Mormon friends.  So I talked to her about the Book of Mormon and gave her one in English and she started flipping through it and was like, “I’ll definitely read this.”  So then I explained a little more about how the “climax”, so to speak, of the Book of Mormon is when Christ visits the people in the Americas.  I flipped to 3 Nephi 11 and told her that it was one of the most beautiful chapters in the whole book and she read the chapter heading and goes, “That sounds really beautiful, I’ll be sure to read it!”  And then we exchanged phone numbers and she said she would love to meet with the missionaries!  Sweettttttt 🙂  Yayyyy Filipinos!!

And the third Filipino moment of the week!  Arleen finally came to church yesterday!!  Whoohoo!!  We’ve been teaching her for several weeks now and has just loved the things we’ve taught her.  But she hadn’t come to church yet for one reason or another.  But yesterday she finally came!  Awww yeah 🙂  So then in Relief Society yesterday, there was a whole row of Filipinos!  Me, Sorella Evangelista, Leona, and Arleen haha 🙂  So great!  Arleen was a little bit nervous before church started, but Sorella Evangelista and Leona made her feel super welcome and now she wants to come again next week!  Sweet! 🙂

Leave a comment