Last transfer call…

​Sorella Henson and I, one year later!  I picked her up at the train station a year ago on her first day in Italy.
​Sorella Henson and I, one year later! I picked her up at the train station a year ago on her first day in Italy.

First, let’s just take a second to take a deep breath before thinking about the fact that I’m heading into my last transfer of my mission.  AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  Alright.  Done freaking out now.  For my last transfer, I will be staying in Palermo!!  Yay!!! 😀  Thank goodness haha as I absolutely LOVE Palermo!  But I’m getting a new companion!  Sorella Sorensen will be transferred to Taranto 😦 and I’m getting Sorella Cano!  I’ve never met her before, but I’m going to be her follow-up trainer (this will be her 3rd transfer), she’s Colombian, but lives in Milan in northern Italy.  She doesn’t speak any English, so I get to go out with a bang speaking all in Italian for my last 6 weeks 🙂

This week has been pretty good, it FLEW by, oh my goodness.  I swear, every week just goes by faster and faster.  Our work is really starting to pick up now that August is over and everyone’s finally back from vacation.  We’ve been seeing really great things with our students in our English course lately, which has been really cool.  My companion and I teach the advanced class, so we only have about 6ish students.  But it’s really great because we get to know each of them better.  We had decided to change up our spiritual thought a little bit so that we could make it more personal for each of them. So we handed out pieces of paper and asked them to write down a couple of religion/spiritual-related questions that they’ve always wondered about.  Then, without having them write their names on it, we collected them and from now on, for each spiritual thought, we’re going to answer one of their questions.  So this past week was the first week of answering their questions and we’ve already seen a difference in the Spirit that’s in the room and how well they listen.  And now we’ve started teaching one of our new students, Stella! 🙂  Palermo, it’s where it’s at. 🙂

Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about this and that, just doing some personal reflection and things.  And it just really hit me how simple the gospel really is, how it really is through the small and simple things that great things are brought to pass.  Just think about it.  How many times in our lives have we been taught that we need to obey the commandments and pray and study our scriptures every day and go to church every week?  We’ve heard these things so many times that I feel like sometimes we don’t truly realize just how much power there is in doing these things.  Because in the end, it really isn’t hard to pray and read the scriptures every day and go to church every week.  It really isn’t a hard thing to do.  But for some reason, we can always find an excuse not to do them.  And we don’t really fully understand the harm in that!  We don’t think it’s a big deal if we skip every once in a while, we rationalize ourselves into thinking that it won’t do any harm.  But if there’s one thing I’ve learned on my mission, it’s that that way of thinking is 100% wrong.  Your faith, your testimony never stand still.  You’re either moving up, growing stronger, and getting closer to Heavenly Father, or you’re falling, growing weaker, and sliding away from God.  It’s like you’re on your bike on a hill. If you don’t read your scriptures or pray or go to church, it’s like you’re sitting on your bike without pedaling.  And what happens if you’re on a hill but you don’t pedal?  You roll down the hill.  Not that you necessarily intended to go down, or even wanted to.  But without the work, without pedaling, you’ll never be able to get to the top of that hill.  So if you want to keep your faith and testimony bright and strong, you gotta pedal. You have to do those little, seemingly mundane things.  You have to pray and read the scriptures daily, you have to partake of the sacrament weekly, you have to obey the commandments and serve and love others.  That’s the only way to pedal your way to the top of the hill where our Heavenly Father is waiting.  And He doesn’t care how fast you’re pedaling. You could be crawling, for all He cares.  What matters is that you’re going in the right direction. Progress is progress, after all.  And the nice thing is, we don’t have to do it alone.  Christ is with us every step of the way.

Vi voglio un mondo di bene!!

Leave a Reply

